You are here

Arolla Chalet D

Request info Add to Favorites Printer-friendly version
2 Bedrooms
2 Bathrooms
Sleeps 9

DisplayRate

  • CAD $$
Get Directions

Description

Arolla Chalet D at Big White Ski Resort offers dramatic floor to ceiling living room windows boasting incredible views of the Monashee Mountains. It really is stunning!

The slate floor entrance on the top level leads to a master bedroom with a queen bed, bedside table with lamp, double built in closet and a 15” flat screen TV. A full bathroom and loft area, complete with three double futons, and TV is also available on this level

Stairs lead down to the living area with access to the balcony, hot tub and barbeque which take full advantage of the panoramic mountain view.

Comfy seating centers around a large slate clad gas fireplace and 24” TV with a DVD player and a separate sound system.

The dining table comes with a long bench, and offers seating for seven guests, and a breakfast bar with four additional chairs. The fully equipped kitchen will meet all your basic culinary needs.

The second bedroom, has two sets of twin bunk beds, a walk in closet and a set of dresser drawers. There is also a second bathroom downstairs with toilet, bath shower and vanity. A small enclosed closet houses the washing machine and dryer.

Ski-out access is down Snow Pine Crescent to Serwa’s ski run. Snow Pine Estates have a policy not to sand the roads so that they can be used by skiers and snowboarders. This will take 5 minutes if the roads are covered in snow, or is an easy 6 minute walk down to the ski run if there is not sufficient snow to ski on the road. Ski-in access is from Serwa’s, a lovely green ski run from the top of the mountain.

This residence is ideal for a group or a family who would like to bring along their dog. Upper Snow Pines is an ideal location for dog walking and there is a great walking path to the Big White Village that is groomed daily and is lit at night - very magical!

A walk in to Big White Village will take you approximately five minutes, or you have the option to catch the free community Big White shuttle bus. The bus stop is located at the top of Snow Pine Crescent, a few steps away from the front door of Arolla Chalet D.

Parking is available for two cars and overflow parking is available at no cost in the Snow Pine Estates parking lot.

Amenities

Living

  • Fireplace Gas
  • TV flat
  • Lamp- Table
  • Table- Coffee
  • Table- End/Side
  • Table- Dining
  • Breakfast Bar Stools
  • Chair-Dining
  • Bench-Dining
  • Ceiling Fans
  • DVD player
  • Stero player
  • Hairdryer in Bathroom(s)
  • Free Internet via wi-fi

Kitchen-main

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Electric Range/oven
  • Microwave
  • Fridge Freezer Large Size
  • Toaster
  • Dishes, Glasses & Cutlery-
  • Pots and Pans
  • Frypan (s)
  • Cookware/ovenware

Outdoor

  • 10-20 Min Walk To Village Centre
  • BBQ- Tank
  • Private Hot Tub
  • Balcony
  • Close To Community Bus Stop
  • Master Bedroom - Queen
  • 2nd Bedroom - 2x Twin Bunks
  • Loft - 3x Futon

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
November 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
July 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 

Map/What's Nearby

Reviews

Great Place to Stay!

Reviewed February 27, 2017 by Kristin N. of , United States. Updated on February 27, 2017. Review of stay from February 20, 2017 to February 25, 2017.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
This was our first time to Big White therefore our first stay at Arollo D. The accommodations were perfect for our family of 4 plus dogs. There was plenty of space for us to not feel on top of each other and probably could have had another family stay with us - although that would have been a little crowded for our preferences.
* Hot tub was great.
* Kitchen was good. I always hope for better cooking equipment (i.e. sharp knives, etc..) but with a rental, you usually get the low end stuff which is what we had here.
* Ski in was across the street from the chalet - perfect!
* Bus/shuttle stop was literally right in front of the chalet - perfect!
* Ski out - not too bad. We had snow on the road so it worked out ok.
* Village is about a 15 minute walk. Not horrible at all as we could easily catch a shuttle one way if we were too tired to walk both ways.

Very much enjoyed this stay!
Response from RentChalets
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're glad to hear Arolla Chalet D was a perfect fit for your family and pet friendly too! We'd love to welcome you back to stay with us again when next you visit Big White.
Reviewed December 22, 2009 by Unknown of Calgary, Alberta United States. Updated on January 5, 2010. Review of stay from December 13, 2009 to December 20, 2009.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others

Awesome holiday

Reviewed January 23, 2012 by Unknown of Doncaster East, VIC 3109 Australia. Updated on January 23, 2012. Review of stay from December 31, 2011 to January 21, 2012.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We stayed at Arolla Chalet D for 21 nights. It has the free shuttle bus stop right in front of the door which is a big plus as you use this service frequently to get to and from village center or happy valley. We also loved the hot tub on the balcony which gets checked by maintenance personell every 3 days to ensure perfect water quality. We loved our stay at this chalet and are already planing to come back next year.

Everything we hoped for!

Reviewed March 22, 2016 by Unknown of Fergus, ON Canada. Updated on March 30, 2016. Review of stay from March 6, 2016 to March 13, 2016.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
It was fantastic - the views were stunning, the hot tub was a treat after a day on the slopes, and everything was just as described in the posting. The 'ski out' wasn't quite as easy as it sounded though, especially for a family with small children who don't like to walk too far in ski boots with gear, but for older children and adults it would be fine. Having a few staples in the kitchen would be a huge bonus for being able to put together home-cooked meals, but we managed just fine. We would come back again in a heartbeat!!
Response from RentChalets
Hi Joanne Thank you for your awesome review of Arolla Chalet D at Big White Ski Resort. We are very pleased that you and your family had a great time and enjoyed the awesome snow as well as the great views from the private hot tub. The walk in ski boots can be a bit long for some of our younger guests however it beats having to drive or catch as bus as at many other ski resorts. With regard to the kitchen staples We do include a welcome pack with tea and coffee to try to help our guests get going on the first morning. Joanne, thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again next season. Regards Mel.

Arolla D -

Reviewed February 16, 2017 by patrick r. of north vancouver, BC United States. Updated on February 19, 2017. Review of stay from February 9, 2017 to February 14, 2017.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We had a great stay and directions were clear and communication with Rent Chalet great.
Time to look at replacing the pots (teflon peeling) and pans (warped). Kitchen sink faucet needs a water diffuser to manage the pressure - it's missing.
Response from RentChalets
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're glad you had a great stay at Arolla Chalet D! Hopefully we can welcome you back to Big White again soon.

LOVE BIG WHITE!!!

Reviewed February 21, 2014 by Cari P. of Puiallup, WA United States. Updated on February 21, 2014. Review of stay from February 14, 2014 to February 19, 2014.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Location was a bit tough getting to and from the runs but not terrible. The property had barely the basics, can opener broken-hard to use, didn't have oven mitts or dish scrubbers but all were remedied immediately with phone calls. The neighbor who walked right in to our condo was a bit unnerving but we did report it and you changed our door code upon our request (as it was the address!!). Would for sure return!

birthday weekend

Reviewed January 28, 2016 by Carole B. of , United States. Updated on February 29, 2016. Review of stay from January 8, 2016 to January 11, 2016.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
we were all very please with location size and only concern was the snow removal when we arrived..could have been cleared for easier access asn for the hottub deck was very icey so I'd recommend some type of de-icer for safety..we also ran out of toilet tissue..good thing we had kleenex..
over all we had an amazing weekend!!
Response from RentChalets
Hi Carole Thank you for your feedback and we're glad to hear that you had a great time. We do try to keep on top of snow removal however when we do have heavy snowfalls it is not always possible. We are not able to use any de-icer on the hot tub deck as it gets tracked into the tub and ruins the quality of the water so again we do our best to keep the snow clear. Finally sorry to hear that you ran out of toilet paper, just so you know for your next visit all you have to do is give our offices a call and we'd be happy to deliver some to your door. We hope to see you again next season for another great ski vacation. Regards Mel.

Great Christmas Vacation

Reviewed January 15, 2014 by Shari S. of Kelowna, BC Canada. Updated on January 15, 2014. Review of stay from December 21, 2013 to December 26, 2013.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We really enjoyed our stay at Arolla Chalet D. Past reviews were really helpful in knowing what to expect. The unit was clean and comfortable. Only complaint would be it could use a new coffee maker. We were grateful to be able to spend the holidays with the whole family, including the family dog. We will definitely be back.

Great Place

Reviewed December 17, 2013 by Unknown of Kelowna, BC United States. Updated on May 1, 2014. Review of stay from December 12, 2013 to December 15, 2013.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Great place to stay, good location, shuttle stops right out front, very quiet, excellent view. A few things were missing that would have made our trip closer to excellent - there was a spice rack with 12 different types of spices, but they were all empty. A Brita water filter (or something similar) would have also been useful. pots and pans could use replacement, or additional different types would be helpful. The television was quite old and needed replacement. It was nice to have a DVD player for the kids, but there wasn't a DVD remote. Not a big deal, we just couldn't navigate through the menus for each DVD. There was a "ghettoblaster" in the chalet as well, but it was a tape player. I am quite sure this unit has not been used in at least 25 years. A unit with a auxiliary input for an mp3 player or Iphone would be a great replacement. The fireplace was not working but we warned about this, it seemed as though it was just bad timing. These are all small items that could be improved, but overall the stay was great. blankets, towels and linens were included and very clean, hot tub was in great shape - We had a great weekend, would definitely rent this place again knowing what small items to bring for next time.
Response from RentChalets
Hi Stacey, thank you for the feed back we will be sharing your comments with the owner. regards, the RentChalets team.

winter holiday

Reviewed April 16, 2016 by Eldon B. of Portugal Cove-St. Philips, NL Canada. Updated on April 16, 2016. Review of stay from March 26, 2016 to March 31, 2016.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
The place was generally good.
A few more things are needed in the kitchen,like pots and pans and a reasonable knives and vegetable peeler

Arolla D

Reviewed April 5, 2015 by Unknown of Vancouver, BC Canada. Updated on April 22, 2015. Review of stay from March 13, 2015 to March 18, 2015.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Great place, pet friendly, 2nd time back to same place!
Response from RentChalets
Hi Jim Thanks for your wonderful review of Arolla Chalet D at Big White Ski Resort. Families with pets certainly like this residence as it feels like a home away from home and has great amenities. Have a great summer and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year as well. Regards Cam

spring vacation 2015

Reviewed March 14, 2015 by Unknown of Vancouver, BC Canada. Updated on March 18, 2015. Review of stay from March 6, 2015 to March 10, 2015.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We arrived to the chalet after a night drive from Vancouver and got stuck out with tired hungry young kids for 45 minutes because the the door lock code was not working... eventually, we made it in. Once in we had a great time.
A great place to share with another family, very well maintained, amazing views from the balcony. Not the best from the Ski in/out perspective.
Response from RentChalets
Hi Itay Thanks for your review of Arolla Chalet D at Big White Ski Resort. We are very sorry that you had difficulties getting into your residence when you arrived and hope that it did not cause you too much inconvenience. We hope that the spacious residence and the great views from the hot tub more then made up for it. With regard to the ski in and ski out, in most resorts a residence with a short walk to the nearest ski run would be considered a great location, however as many of our residences allow guests to ski right to and from their front or back door we understand your comments and appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing if we can find you a residence with better ski in and ski out for your next visit to Big White. Regards Kim

arolla d

Reviewed March 13, 2013 by Tim B. of Kelowna, BC Canada. Updated on April 23, 2013. Review of stay from March 7, 2013 to March 11, 2013.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
had a great getaway....hot tub great and kitchen equiped quite well. Wish chalet had blinds to cut the sun when necessary. Not really much else negative to say. Would rent again. (blinds preferred)
Response from RentChalets
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback Tim - we will look into the blinds! RentChalets.

Arolla D Review

Reviewed March 12, 2014 by Tim B. of Kelowna, BC Canada. Updated on April 3, 2014. Review of stay from March 6, 2014 to March 10, 2014.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Had another great weekend getaway at Arolla Chalet D. Condo works well for us from location and cost standpoint as well as sleeping arrangements. Condo is looking tired and needs some general maintenance but other than that a great weekend.

Chalet rollo d

Reviewed April 15, 2014 by Lynn K. of Surrey, BC Canada. Updated on April 15, 2014. Review of stay from March 16, 2014 to March 26, 2014.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
The bathrooms were poorly maintained. The shower curtains and bathtub were mouldy and scummy.

pet friendly!

Reviewed March 31, 2013 by Unknown of Vancouver, BC Canada. Updated on April 23, 2013. Review of stay from March 17, 2013 to March 22, 2013.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
great place! my dog also love it!!
Response from RentChalets
I am so glad you and your dog enjoyed your stay! It makes a big difference when you can bring your familiy friend on holiday with you.

Post New Years/Wedding Rental

Reviewed January 21, 2016 by Michael S. of Esterhazy, Sask Canada. Updated on January 25, 2016. Review of stay from December 29, 2015 to January 3, 2016.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Had a difficult time locating the condo, not necessarily the rental companies fault, but it sits at a bit of a weird intersection and I believe the address is for the two located downstairs.

The place was nice, had plenty of sleeping accommodations, but we had some issues occur during our 5-night stay. The first morning, we had no hot water in the building, at all. This was the morning of my wedding, so people were scrambling to try and clean up, kneeling next to the tub to wash their hair etc. The second issue was the hot tub. There was some reoccuring electrical issues that it seemed if the water level got too high (3 people in the tub was enough) the circuit breaker would trip out. I think possibly the seal on the controls had failed, allowing water to get into the electronics. Overnight, it would eventually dry out enough that the breaker would stay back on and the tub would heat up. I mentioned that I thought this was the issue to the maintenance people who kept coming to take a look and nothing was done about it, so we'd get about 30 minutes of a warm hot tub each night before the breaker would trip and the tub would cool down.

A small refund was given, but to me not enough to justify the inconvenience (a hot tub was part of the consideration in renting this unit). If these issues have since been corrected, I would happily recommend the place to a friend. I understand right around New Years is a tough time to get anything dealt with, but a little more consideration would have been appreciated.
Response from RentChalets
Thank you for the feed back, we did respond every time you presented an issue and if there was a fault it did not present itself when our tech came round. This is the first I have heard of the panel being waterlogged and then drying out. We will investigate that. regards David

Short weekend stay

Reviewed January 18, 2017 by Unknown of Sacramento, CA United States. Updated on February 13, 2017. Review of stay from January 13, 2017 to January 16, 2017.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Main objective was to ski for the weekend. We found the place is not a ski in or out, unless you are willing to cross the road of rocks and then skate ski up hill for a while. Ski in was a little easier but again you have to cross the road after dropping down the side of a good hill. We were disappointed in the slight miss lead information on ski in/out. However, there was a shuttle pickup in front of the house making it easier to get into town and then walking on ski hill back to the house.

The house was clean and enjoyed the view and clean hot tube. The kitchen had nice appliances but could use an upgrade on the two pans they have. It was difficult cooking with the pans as ever thing would stick to them making clean up much more difficult.

Overall we are happy with the experience but bummed on the ski in/out wording of the place.
Response from RentChalets
Hi Zach, We will add more pans and while we can't improve the ski acess we try to be accurate about it and the pricing does reflect the location. David

Rough around the edges but what a view!

Reviewed April 3, 2016 by Unknown of Vancouver, BC Canada. Updated on April 6, 2016. Review of stay from March 13, 2016 to March 18, 2016.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Rough around the edges but what a view!

Great location/Poorly maintained & stocked

Reviewed December 29, 2014 by Shari S. of Kelowna, BC Canada. Updated on December 29, 2014. Review of stay from December 22, 2014 to December 27, 2014.
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Our family spent the 2nd Xmas in a row at Arolla D. Last year we looked the other way with a few of the details but this year it put a damper on our vacation. No internet the entire trip - which with the new day pass system was incredibly inconvenient to load. Kitchen very poorly stocked - not enough cutlery or glasses for the amount of people it sleeps, no oven mitts, no cork screw. Both shower tubs don't drain - 4" of water by the end of your shower. Finally the hot tub was not topped up which meant that when we went to get in the temp was at 85, brrr. Overall disappointing stay. We won't be back to this spot again which is unfortunate because it is in a great location and we don't need a fancy spot but just too many things to deal with. Property management took a lot of calls from us and overall handled them well and tried their best but I would suggest you have the person answering the phone start with a "we'll do our very best" instead of "not sure we will be able to do anything", made it frustrating on our end especially when in the end you did come up with glasses, cutlery, oven mitts etc but the person answering the phone wasn't very encouraging that anything would get resolved.
Response from RentChalets
Hi Shari, I'm sorry you had a poor experience, if you come back to Big White contact me directly and I will try to make amends for your next visit. regards, David Owner RentChalets